Author Topic: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds  (Read 243059 times)

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2505
  • Karma: +189/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #270 on: April 12, 2025, 12:58:10 am »
I will (almost) always recommend the latest qt6weben.dll. Does the same occur with simplebrowser.exe? (I think that's the right name)

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 877
  • Karma: +14/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #271 on: April 12, 2025, 01:09:49 am »
I tried otter browser and same issue.

Here are several screenshots with the corresponding free shared low memory value (between eatch screen capture, I only opened new tabs....
To get memory back, closing a tab has no effect and only closing Dooble will free used memory


Currently using latest Dooble build which was done on QT 6.2.8 !
Previous one was on QT 6.2.10.
 
A little change but same amount of storage is taken.
- Dooble QT6.2.8   -  opening the second TAB didn't take memory until I load a page
- Dooble QT6.2.10 - opening the second TAB without a link will take the same amount of memory than under QT6.2.8 and loading the same page didn't change this value  (both uses same memory once a page is loaded)


Tried: https://smedley.id.au/tmp/qt6weben-6.2.6-20250124.zip  same issue

Under QT5, low shared memory decreases at first opened tab than, only free high shared memory decreases for any other opened tab
     
« Last Edit: April 12, 2025, 01:58:52 am by Remy »

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 877
  • Karma: +14/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #272 on: April 12, 2025, 02:39:26 am »
Now, tried simplebrowser from QT6.2.11
(I set correct environment and run simplebrowser)

At open time + initial link page load, it took about 30M of shared low storage
I check QT ver and 6.2.11 is displaied

Opened, 2, 3, 4 tabs with link, no shared low memory decrease ! it works   
 

Paul Smedley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2505
  • Karma: +189/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #273 on: April 12, 2025, 04:30:30 am »
Interesting, this 'suggests' the problem is dooble.exe somehow and how it's invoking the webengine....

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5344
  • Karma: +127/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #274 on: April 12, 2025, 06:31:09 am »
Now, tried simplebrowser from QT6.2.11
(I set correct environment and run simplebrowser)

At open time + initial link page load, it took about 30M of shared low storage
I check QT ver and 6.2.11 is displaied

Opened, 2, 3, 4 tabs with link, no shared low memory decrease ! it works

Was this with single process?
Here I don't find Dooble-Qt6 keeps using up lower shared memory, it does eat up high shared memory. Also at one point I lowered my VIRTUALADDRESSLIMIT from 3072 to 2944 which cured a lot of the hangs here. Might want to try lowering it depending on what it is set at.

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 877
  • Karma: +14/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #275 on: April 12, 2025, 01:20:37 pm »
Now, tried simplebrowser from QT6.2.11
(I set correct environment and run simplebrowser)

At open time + initial link page load, it took about 30M of shared low storage
I check QT ver and 6.2.11 is displaied

Opened, 2, 3, 4 tabs with link, no shared low memory decrease ! it works

Was this with single process?
Here I don't find Dooble-Qt6 keeps using up lower shared memory, it does eat up high shared memory. Also at one point I lowered my VIRTUALADDRESSLIMIT from 3072 to 2944 which cured a lot of the hangs here. Might want to try lowering it depending on what it is set at.

I had lower VIRTUALADDRESSLIMITE and I increased it until 2944 for best overall results.
Currently, using 2944.

Dooble.exe --disable-gpu --log-level=1


Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5344
  • Karma: +127/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #276 on: April 12, 2025, 04:58:05 pm »
I meant was the simplebrowser in single process mode to make a better comparision.
Code: [Select]
set QTWEBENGINE_CHROMIUM_FLAGS="--single-process" simplebrowser.exe
You might want to try even lower on the VIRTUALADDRESSLIMIT, perhaps 2560 for a bit.
The potential problem is if PCI address space on your machine is larger then expected.

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 877
  • Karma: +14/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #277 on: April 12, 2025, 05:55:15 pm »
I meant was the simplebrowser in single process mode to make a better comparision.
Code: [Select]
set QTWEBENGINE_CHROMIUM_FLAGS="--single-process" simplebrowser.exe
You might want to try even lower on the VIRTUALADDRESSLIMIT, perhaps 2560 for a bit.
The potential problem is if PCI address space on your machine is larger then expected.

It was at 2560 before I push the value up to 2944 (increased by step and checked if all works as usual before trying next value)

interesting !
- Simplebrowser start in single process mode  (free shared low storage decreases as well but less than under Dooble)
- Tried Dooble removing single process mode : free shared low storage is nearly stable, after opening 5 tabs with links, only 30M more shared low storage was taken
  (the minus 30M occurs opening third tab or changing link from within tab2 loaded page) 

Dooble QT5 has the single process mode on but no problem (free shared memory is stable)
« Last Edit: April 13, 2025, 12:06:02 am by Remy »

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 877
  • Karma: +14/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #278 on: April 13, 2025, 12:24:04 am »
Dooble without single process mode is not usable.
When opening web pages, often the page start to load and then, it goes full grey and nothing more...
Back to single process mode but then, free memory issue....

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5344
  • Karma: +127/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #279 on: April 13, 2025, 01:33:30 am »
Yes, multi-process mode on OS/2 is broken. It's a shame as single-process mode is only supposed to be used for debugging and it is quite possible that Qt6 is different with how it handles single-process mode.
Did this memory problem start happening with the recent releases or was it there before for you?

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 877
  • Karma: +14/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #280 on: April 13, 2025, 03:27:14 am »
The problem exist under QT6.2.8 (test done yet) and up
I no more have previous QT6 builds (6.2.4 nor 6.2.6)

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5344
  • Karma: +127/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #281 on: April 13, 2025, 04:04:54 am »
I meant Dooble releases. This one saw using a profile on Qt6 to fix the visited links colour. Qt5 always used a profile.
Also how is the French translation working for you? There was an update, attached.

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 877
  • Karma: +14/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #282 on: April 13, 2025, 05:17:29 am »
I meant Dooble releases. This one saw using a profile on Qt6 to fix the visited links colour. Qt5 always used a profile.
Also how is the French translation working for you? There was an update, attached.

Thanks.

I could try the Dooble build from 22-08-2024 (same results)
I have an older one from 2023 (february) but this one never start due to missing QT6WIDGS
« Last Edit: April 13, 2025, 05:30:40 am by Remy »

Dave Yeo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5344
  • Karma: +127/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #283 on: April 13, 2025, 05:39:38 am »
OK, nothing recent. Here, I don't really get the low shared memory dropping, just high shared memory dropping, but I do have the DLL's marked high. I'm using Qt version 6.2.8 (runtime 6.2.11).
It still locks up too much for me to use it much. It's a shame dmik has moved on.

Remy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 877
  • Karma: +14/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dooble releases, Qt5 builds
« Reply #284 on: April 13, 2025, 05:54:31 am »
OK, nothing recent. Here, I don't really get the low shared memory dropping, just high shared memory dropping, but I do have the DLL's marked high. I'm using Qt version 6.2.8 (runtime 6.2.11).
It still locks up too much for me to use it much. It's a shame dmik has moved on.

I too have Dlls marked high
QT 6.2.8 - runtime QT 6.2.11 and QT WE 6.2.6

I found a Dooble from 23-08-2023 and the problem still exist

Yes, it freezes the system often and it seems to be more often when playing audio or a lot of mouse gesture (moving the sidebar etc...)

System ARCAOS HW i7  (not under virtual machine)
« Last Edit: April 13, 2025, 06:10:14 am by Remy »